Thank you therapy

16 Jan

In what seems to be a recurring theme, I’m starting today’s post with another tale of yesterday’s failures…and small victories.

It was about this time yesterday that I was tallying my accomplishments up against my expectations for the day. I had been more productive and kept myself busier than any day in weeks – almost no television, putting together a real, immediate plan for my job hunt, even daring to rough out a cover letter for the job I want to apply for by the end of the week – and yet I was dangerously close to chalking up the day as a failure.

Why? Because I didn’t think I’d get to my new daily blogging. I’d set manageable expectations for the day, and did far more than I set out to do, but one relatively minor task left undone threatened to ruin my entire day’s work (or at least my feelings towards it).

I’m often torn about the value of certain therapies – like my weekly group therapy or “going to church” as I sometimes call it – but this week its worth was obvious.

For starters, I was reminded yet again of how irrational and vicious my inner critic can be. With yesterday as a perfect example, I was *this* close to writing off the day of major accomplishments because of a single, minor missed expectation…one only I would ever notice at that.

After hearing the group’s reaction to my thinking, and seeing it now in writing, it’s obvious that my self-criticism was ridiculously harsh and shame inducing. As you’ll soon learn, this is a lesson that’s taking me some time to learn.

The other benefit the group provided was the reassurance that, while I’m crazy on many fronts, I’m certainly not alone. There’s always one person who’s having a day as shitty as mine, and that company feels good. I wonder how many of my church friends – all juggling substance, mental health and interpersonal issues – find the same solace in my misery.

Funny…that was a comfort I used to find at my favourite watering hole, when alcohol was my anxiety and depression medication of choice. Even as I drowned my sorrows and avoided my own demons, I was able to look at my drinking buddies with a sense of pity, empathizing with their pain while temporarily numb to my own.

Suffice to say, group therapy’s working a whole lot better than drinking ever did.

Today was another productive day, similar to yesterday in that I didn’t do everything on my to do list, but I did much more that wasn’t. With luck and yesterday’s therapy reminders, I’ll end this day a success.

Leave a Reply

My Journey 2 Scratch

"The secrets to life are hidden behind the word cliché" - Shay Butler

800 Recovery Hub Blog

Written by people in recovery for people in recovery

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

If You're Going Through Hell Keep Going

because we've all got a bit of crazy

The Secret Life of a Manic Depressive

The Secret Life of a Manic Depressive: Navigating the Labyrinth of NHS Mental Health Services

Vicarious Therapy

because we've all got a bit of crazy

because we've all got a bit of crazy

Bipolar and Me

because we've all got a bit of crazy

Philly Weekly

because we've all got a bit of crazy

Beyond Blue

because we've all got a bit of crazy

A Splintered Mind

because we've all got a bit of crazy

TotallyADD.com | Adult ADD | ADHD in Adults

because we've all got a bit of crazy

Artemis Unfiltered

Diary of an Agoraphobic

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

digiphile

We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet.

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

